faith

Contentment

Contentment: The state of happiness and satisfaction.

This is a definition applicable to many different things. One can be satisfied after baking a cake because they are happy with the results.  One can be happy with how their children behaved at the supermarket.  Or one could be satisfied with the status of their financial portfolio.  The definition by which somebody is content varies so widely that it is hard to apply an exact description to it.

The opposite of contentment could be described as one who is always on the search for something that makes them happy.  This may come through eating food, experimenting with various religions, buying bigger houses, changing jobs, divorcing/getting married, and moving to a new location. Constantly striving for happiness or what satisfies you often sets you up for failure.  True peace and true contentment are unable to be fulfilled through various means that only leave you empty as where you began. “The world and its desires pass away, but whoever does the will of God lives forever” 1 John 2:17 (NIV). Think about that a minute. You know we will all die, but where you will spend eternity is important.  “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.” Matthew 6:19-20. (NIV)

Where are your treasures?  What makes you happy?  What treasures are you storing up in heaven?

If you could all take a glimpse at my life and how I live, you could say “wow she is living the life” because I live in a beautiful vacation area in a huge home. Or I have it made because I can afford to stay at home as a mom to my six children.  Or maybe because I have my Master’s Degree in Middle Level Education. But, no.  I am content because I do no place my source of satisfaction upon things here on earth.  I strive to get to my peace from God, its a peace that transcends all understanding. Philippians 4:7

My life is not easy and I have daily struggles, too.  Just because I am a Christian it does not mean my life is not without struggles.  I am a human.I am easily tempted, too. However, I have learned not to store up my treasures here on earth, but in heaven.

 

Leave a Reply

