Christianity · Family organization · parenting · Uncategorized

Meal planning and other Sunday randomness

I had some time this afternoon to get some meal prep done for the week ahead.  My 11 year old daughter I and worked together while the rest of the kids napped or played outside. After church on Sundays I typically am exhausted and tend to do more mundane chores around the house. However, today with a spurt of energy and a dab of motivation I got to work.

Working with what we had on hand in the pantry, fridge, and freezer I was limited as to what I could cook.  We fried up turkey burger and ground beef and mixed together.  A portion of this mix we made into taco meat that will be used for our favorite taco bake, taco salad, and nachos.  Another third of this went to a cheesy pasta bake that will be eaten for lunches and dinners both.  And the final third was portioned out for a large crock of chili that we will eat on all week, too.  My daughter was doing this mostly herself with me as a guide a few different times.  She does not like draining the fat on the burger or dumping the food into other containers, for a fear of getting burned by splashing food particles.

My daughter wanted to make corn bread muffins on top of this.  However, she forget them in the oven and they ended up a tad scorched, but thankfully still edible.  They will go well paired with chili for a meal.

I took a break from cooking and baking to go walking with some friends, which was wonderful to get out of the house for an hour.  After dinner I took stock of the pantry and fridge to see what items we would need for the following week.  I took a quick trip to town to pick up some basics like flour, vanilla, baking powder, and snacks.  Then at home I broke the large snack bags of pretzels and tortilla chips down into several individual snack baggies for lunches for my children and husband.  Each snack bag cost $1.00 and I bought three of them for a total of $3.00, with 20 snack baggies for a total of .15 cents each. These will last us most of the week.

Breaking down larger size snack bags into smaller baggies allows my children to grab one as they pack their lunch. There is no worries on my part of them taking too much of the snack.   It works well with most snack foods, fruits, and veggies. My most used snack baggies include the following ready-to-go foods.

  1. Grapes
  2. Raisins
  3. Pretzels
  4. Tortilla chips
  5. Popcorn
  6. Homemade trail mix
  7. Strawberries
  8. Apple slices (lemon juice is used to prevent browning

I can relax a bit tonight as tomorrow is a day off for mid-winter break for my children.  No backpacks or lunches to set out ahead tonight.

Remember you are loved and you are precious in His sight.

Good evening ya’ll.

2 thoughts on “Meal planning and other Sunday randomness

Leave a Reply

