Christianity · Health · Uncategorized

Making healthier choices.

Health and fitness. Nutrition. Diets. Weight loss programs. Heading to the gym. Perfect workouts. Eat this not that. Low carb. High protein. Bariatric surgery.  No GMO’s.

There is a myriad of information floating around out there on the internet. All proclaim to have the answer when it comes to health, fitness, and nutrition and it can be overwhelming.

At 41 years old, it was time for me to make some healthier choices regarding nutrition and fitness. After conquering the diet pop addiction I feel confident in moving forward with other areas in my life. However, how do I know which source is accurate when it comes to health, fitness, or nutrition?   In cases of uncertainty I turn to the Word,  it is there I found this in 1 Corinthians 6:19-20,  Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own, you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.”  If I am to honor my God with my body, I doubt I can do that couch surfing with a bag of potato chips in my lap. Walking once a week is probably not cutting it when it comes to getting aerobic exercise. Eating carrots alone will not make me lose weight or get stronger. 

We all need goals in order to get healthy. Of course, I would like to lose weight. I also want to gain strength. However, I feel these are lofty goals and I needed more concrete obtainable goals. I have broken my goals my down into the following:

Drink more water

Get up and move 5 times a week

Eat less carbohydrates and more protein

 

Stretch daily

Recently, I had the opportunity  to seek the advice of my good friend Fawn, who is certified personal trainer through ACE (American Council on Exercise).  She knows me well and was able to create a personal workout for me.  She walked me through a short but efficient routine that targets the main areas of my body. I will aim to do this five times a week in addition to seeking other aerobic exercise.

I look forward to sharing with you tips and tricks I will be learning as time goes on. I also look forward from you on what works for you.

What about you?  Any healthy tips?  Recipes?  Workout tips you would love to share?

How do you incorporate faith into being healthy?

 

5 thoughts on “Making healthier choices.

  1. I second the sugar thing! That’s the whole focus of my current effort in becoming healthy. Processed sugars are just evil. As far as incorporating faith… I use the bible plans on the YouVersion app, there are several on food, and they pinpoint the verses that are most meaningful when trying to defeat the food monster. 🙂 The one from Lisa TerKeurst is especially great. Good luck on your journey. Your tips are great – just moving more and eating good food – it works wonders! 🙂 God bless and good health!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

