Christianity · parenting · Uncategorized

My circus life: A frozen caterpillar, soggy Cheerios, science experiments, and the splash heard around the house

fall 2014 005.jpg

This morning….

All six children were up 45 minutes early when our typical wake up time is 6:45. I lost my alone time, but the morning went on…

….then my seven year old daughter spilled the sugar ALL OVER the floor and did not tell me until her one of her sister’s had already walked through it.  She did not stop there though. Her soggy Cheerios ended up all over the floor and I did not notice until I walked through them. Both were accidents…

Then my nine year old  son spilled his oatmeal on the floor on the other side of the kitchen.

frog-1037252_1920.jpg

We’re in the throes of potty training the baby (who is two years old but still referred to as the baby), and this morning I left her to sit on the toilet to do her business.  A few minutes later I hear a splash and a baby girl crying “Mama mama” and when I turned around she had fallen into the toilet… which her sibling had not previously flushed.  Disgusting….

caterpillar-2028028_1280.png

After the baby fell in the toilet and had gotten cleaned up, I heard my thirteen old daughter yelling “Mommy, I found a caterpillar. Its frozen. It cannot move.”  She had found a caterpillar that had been frozen in mid-crawl outside.

A few minutes later I had gone to my eleven year old daughter’s room to retrieve an object. It was then that I noticed that she had been doing some smelly science experiments in her bathroom sink; and left the evidence there. Pink squishy slime was all over in her sink floating in a water.

After I left her room I had noticed one of the children had brought in muddy rocks from the night before and left them on the floor. The mud had dried and now we had piles of dirt all over floor.

You cannot make this stuff up. This all happened within a 45 minute time frame at my house this morning.

It is days like this that I wish I drank coffee. Just to keep me alive and sane.  I tried it. Many times. Bitter nastiness. Don’t ask me to do it again.

rural-1093304_1920.jpg

However, this is my circus. Unlike a circus that you go to once year, mine happens daily. Life is not dull. Ever.

Do I wish for silence and more time to myself? Of course, who wouldn’t? However, today I reacted cheerfully and lovingly, but I do not always choose to. My children have been stung by my words, but I am grateful for their forgiveness when I ask. They give me grace when I often do not deserve it.

A circus is meant to be entertaining, but at times life in my circus gets overwhelming. So what do I do to prevent circus burnout?  First of all, I cannot do it alone. I turn to God’s breathed Word and seek comfort in the scripture.  I pray. I ask for forgiveness. I remain eternally grateful for mercy.

Secondly, I try not to worry about mistakes that I have made because we are to  “… not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.  Matthew 6:34

Finally, I admit that I am not perfect. I make mistakes daily. However, I am perfectly happy being imperfect because His love never ceases because I make mistakes. His grace is never ending. His mercies are new each morning.

Lamentations 3:22–23

The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases;
His mercies never come to an end;
They are new every morning;
Great is your faithfulness.

In  Psalm 127:3-5 it says,  “Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.

Children are a gift, a reward. It is not easy to remember that your children are a reward when they are making constant messes or throwing the fifteenth temper tantrum of the day. It is easy to become discouraged, overwhelmed, and depressed. Choosing to remember that your children are a gift takes time and willful thought.

Choosing to delight in your children is a choice.  Not always an easy one.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

