Christianity · Uncategorized

Lost Fitbit, stinky garbage, and not so innocent two year old….

 

We had guests all weekend. We had plans all weekend. I look forward to times like this because I know I will get my steps in on my Fitbit.

I don’t know about you, but I love my Fitbit.

arm-1867759_1280.jpg

My wrist feels naked without it. I am addicted to checking my steps and progress on the Fitbit app. I try to wear it daily.

Yesterday morning I lost my beloved Fitbit right before we were on our way out the door to church. I scoured our house for an hour looking.  Sadly, I had to go to church without it. If you know me, you know I have a slight tendency toward OCDish behaviors and like to know that objects are in their proper place. Am I a nerd? Yesss.

nerd-32821_1280.png

As I am running around the house looking my husband said, “Think of all the steps you would be logging on your Fitbit. Too bad you don’t know where it is.”

Me: “Ugh!”, as I went off to go look for it.

At one point five of my children were helping look for it, but only after I promised a financial reward if they found it. My in-laws both helped me look for it, too, along with my dear sweet husband. We looked for the Fitbit before church and it resumed after we returned home.

I sifted through the wet slimy kitchen garbage that contained dirty diapers, dog food, and rotten banana peels. I went through the fridge and freezer, my normal forgot-where-I-put-stuff spot. Don’t ask! It always is in the fridge or freezer, sad as that is.

First of all, I am not a smart techie person. I do not have a smart phone. I do know how to turn my computer on and the rest is sketchy. But I had a brainstorm yesterday and wondered if there was a way to track my phone with technology.

After a quick google search I learned there are apps you can download to locate low-energy bluetooth devices. Our Kindles were not equipped to download these sorts of apps. However, my wonderful and ever-so helpful sister-in-law has a smart phone and lives less than two miles away. In less than five minutes she was at my house, smart phone in hand, and the app downloaded.  The app is in iTunes, and is called Find My FitBit, and is totally worth the $4.99 fee.

search-1013911_1920.jpg

Then the treasure hunt began. The app told us when we were cold-warm-warmer-hot-or would start beep-beep-beeping when we found it. We looked for fifteen minutes. It led us into the kitchen, the last place seen, but was only hot in one spot. We searched that spot.

Then my thirteen year old said “Mommy, look upstairs”….off we ran to the upstairs and concluded our search. It led us to my five year old daughter’s bed and located in the same room was my two year old.  She was supposed to be sleeping because it was her nap time.

However, Little Miss  was sitting up in bed with a plastic shopping cart, ten of her stuffed animals, and four blankets. Not quite the picture of innocence if you ask me.

By now the sister-in-law had the phone again and it began beeping at her the closer she got to the bed, when she found it under the blankets on my five year old daughter’s bed.

Immediately, I looked over at my two year old and said, “Did you bring Mommy’s Fitbit upstairs?”

Blank stare from the baby.

Me: “Did you play with Mommy’s Fitbit”

Baby, smiling so smugly, “Play with Fitbit?”

Me: “It was you, wasn’t it?”

Baby: “I not nap”

I was so happy to have found it. I am grateful for my sister-in-law for saving the day. I am amazed that such technology exists.

Point of this story is, don’t leave your stuff where your kids can get it. I would go broke if I have to pay nearly $5.00 every time I lost something.

However, as grateful as I am that this was only my Fitbit.  I do not like lost objects, it truly drive me crazy. To put this in perspective, lost objects really do not matter. Some day we when we die they are not going with us. We were born naked and will die naked.

Feeling like a lost soul…..

The Parable of the Lost Sheep

Now the tax collectors and sinners were all gathering around to hear Jesus. But the Pharisees and the teachers of the law muttered, “This man welcomes sinners and eats with them.”

 Then Jesus told them this parable:  “Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders  and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep.’  I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent. Luke 15:1-7

Have you met the Great Shepherd?  Just like my all-points bulletin when I lost my Fitbit, think of Jesus sending out an all-points bulletin for you when you are lost and looking. He is looking for you!

Leave a Reply

