Christianity · parenting · Uncategorized

But I had plans…..

I slept in this morning until 5:41. I knew I had a lot to do today, but figured I would still be able to get it all done. Early mornings are my best time to get things done because nobody is awake to distract me.

I did my typical morning routine.

Made Brian’s lunch.

Put away dishes from the night before.

Started a load of clothes.

Made the bed.

One child was already up and had eaten breakfast as I was getting up. My thirteen year old is an early morning person, too. A girl after her mama’s own heart.

twitter-152681_640.png

Then I saw my eleven year old daughter, who by nature is not a cheerful happy soul in the morning.  She greeted me by saying, “Mommy, I puked on my top bunk cause I could not make it to the bathroom.”  The thought of cleaning chunky vomit off a top bunk ranks up there with cleaning urinals at my church (which I do as part of my cleaning job at church on a weekly basis). Needless to say, I was not amused.

I guess I needed to go clean up her sheets, but I had plans,  when I really just wanted to sit down before I woke up the others.

When I sat down to eat breakfast and was about to life my fork to my mouth, I heard a little voice quip, “Mommy, can I have bweakfass, too?”  But I wanted to eat my breakfast….alone.

A little while later I sat down to do some writing when I heard the sick child get ill again. This time it was on her bedroom carpet and bathroom floor, but I wanted to write not clean up puke again…

I am sure you are noticing the recurring theme that my day began with. This blog could have gone in so many directions with topics such as:

Mom’s who never get time for themselves. Ten tips on how take time for yourself to recharge.

Or

How to achieve inner peace with all the distractions in life.

Or

Motherhood: How to embrace the beauty in any situation

Instead, I think we can agree that life happens. Distractions are a part of life. I get annoyed when I am distracted and lose my focus. Small goals such as cleaning the fridge or bigger goals like saving money, it does not matter.  There have been many times we have been saving money and a situation arises that forces us to use that saved money. We try to get back on task as soon as possible.

Goals are good. Distractions happen. You get back on track. And maybe that is all there is to a situation.

Or…

It may be that certain distractions that keep happening are disheartening or annoying to you.  You may feel that your goals are going to take longer to achieve. You have been working so hard and find yourself constantly distracted. How many times does a toddler trying to fit a square into a circle hole realize it just won’t fit, until he finds the proper shape to fit the correct hole?

Doors shut.  Another one opens. What lies on the other side may not be originally what you wanted or been working towards, but it may end up being bigger and better than you could have possibly imagined or dreamed.

When you are in the middle of a situation you often cannot see the entire circumstance, but God can see the big picture. He is at work in and around you. Those little or big distractions are often Him doing His work in your life. Often you may not see the truth of a situation until much later.

Take a look at distractions in your life. What is consistently happening that you are annoyed with because you feel its preventing you from reaching your goals? Is God shutting a door, but trying to open another one?

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,

neither are your ways my ways,”

declares the Lord.

As the heavens are higher than the earth,

so are my ways higher than your ways

and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55 8-9

 

One thought on “But I had plans…..

Leave a Reply

