Uncategorized

Don’t be a hypocrite

You know that feeling when things pile up and you push them away, saying “I’ll do it another day?” Then you don’t get to it that next day either. Pretty soon, what could have been done in an hour or two is now a bigger issue.

It is called procrastination. Procrastination is the act of delaying or avoiding something.

Nothing good comes out of procrastination. You can experience stress, loss of time, and loss of goals. In the past three years I have become a procrastinator on some levels, especially when it comes to putting laundry away. Sigh…..

All of our family’s laundry is washed and dried daily.  Even though the laundry is cleaned daily, it is not often put a way resulting in a rather large pile.  There are eight of us and garage clothes, work clothes, school clothes, church clothes, play clothes, and sports clothes make up that pile. We have deemed the pile Mt. Malcolm. The pile rests in my bedroom.

washday-364714_1920.jpg

I love a clean house. I have an organized home. I loathe clutter and call myself a minimalist. So why don’t I take care of my laundry on a more regular basis?

It stresses me out. I get overwhelmed and walk away. Every other chore will be done, but doing the separating, folding, and putting away the laundry is so overwhelming at times.

Once I do it, I feel accomplished, almost as if I climbed Mt. Malcolm myself.

Putting this out there in the great blogosphere causes me to feel vulnerable because it is I am admitting that I have a weakness. Why is it so difficult for me to admit that I have weakness?

This is not the only area I do not like being vulnerable in. I know I am not the only one either. Most people do not like to admit weaknesses.

Why it is so difficult to be transparent and vulnerable? Is it the fear of being looked down upon? Or the thought that in admitting your weakness, you feel others would perceive you as something less than?

By  being afraid to admit weaknesses and making yourself vulnerable, may be due to the fact you will feel:

·    That you will be taken advantage of

·    That you will be rejected

·    That you will be abandoned

·    That you will be hurt

·    That you will be humiliated

·    That you will be controlled

·    That you will be betrayed

These are not pleasant feelings to deal with and personally I do not like to contend with them either.

feet-1868670_1920.jpg

ON THE FLIPSIDE….

By not being transparent and authentic we often give the impression that we ‘have it all together and that our walk is blameless’. No wonder Christians get such a bad rap when we do fall and make mistakes, often major ones.

Christians are often one of the worse at admitting weaknesses. We need prayer. We make mistakes. We need the grace of others. We all sin.  We, too, need forgiveness.

It is time to stop pretending that as Christians we are better than others. Or that we are more righteous than others. Nothing can be further from the truth.  I am not saying all do this and maybe you don’t feel you are, but to those who are new in their faith or have not heard the Gospel, it may be perceived that way.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

As Christians, when we are weak it is then that we are the most open to receiving God’s grace. We admit our mistakes. We are called to be humble. We ask for forgiveness. We accept His grace and can go onward knowing that in our weakness He can do His work in us.

Allow me to encourage you to be open to becoming honest with yourself and others, admit your weaknesses. It is okay to be vulnerable.  One does not have to admit all our weakness, there is such thing as too much information. TMI, we have all seen those facebook posts where one admits too much about themselves. You must strike a healthy balance between looking like a fool on one extreme and being seen as a ‘holier-than-thou’ sort of person.

How can we lead others to Christ if we perceive ourselves as better or if they see us as hypocrites?

9 thoughts on “Don’t be a hypocrite

  1. wow! i was just thinking of laundry this morning when i was cleaning my bathrooms. tuesdays are my bathroom days. while cleaning the toilet, i thought to myself, “i would rather clean 10000000 toilets than fold and put laundry away!” haha i’m happy to see that another mom gets overwhelmed with it, too. my laundry room is in the basement, and we have a 3 story house. i have to cart laundry for 5 people up and down 7 flights of stairs. i dread it. and like you, i’m doing laundry everyday. i can’t only do it once a week. i so admire your honesty 🙂 made me feel better!

    Like

  2. The hypocrisy I’ve witness by fellow Christians is the reason I don’t formally practice, maybe I have not found right community, but I’m happy with what I’m doing . I think your post on admitting our weaknesses also helps us become more empathetic, by admitting we don’t have it figured out , we can give others a bit of room to feel the same. Ultimately, it is not our job to judge.

    Like

  3. Amazing reminder, especially in our hyper-polished world of social media. It’s so tempting to want to only share the good things in our lives and hide the bad, but that quickly devolves into seeking praise for ourselves rather than focusing it on God. We don’t need to broadcast every minute of every day on Facebook or in conversation, but we should absolutely take care that we present accurate pictures of ourselves, not just the things that we hope will elevate our own status.

    Like

Leave a Reply

